Fraunhofer IPK

Institute for Production Systems and Design Technology

Reliably getting work pieces to their destinations

The smooth running of job shop production does not only depend on intelligent tools controlling the individual production steps. How the routes between the steps are organized is just as important. 

It is relatively easy to reorganize transports between machining stations within a production area, which so far are ensured by the links. These transports can be carried out manually by the machine operators on the shop floor. Separate transport-management systems are not necessary here, because the transport requirements may be drawn from the scheduled production flow: Once the staff have been informed that after machining on machine A an order needs to get to machine B for further processing, they will be able to arrange the required transport between the two machining steps by themselves.

iWePro additionally factors in the longer transport routes between production areas – in other words from soft machining to hardening, from there to hard machining and finally to the end-of-line buffer. Transportation along these routes is currently often organized with fixed route plans. At Station 4 of the exhibit, SAFELOG GmbH is presenting an intelligent transport-management system that could be used for the adaptive organization of transport. The system does not only emphatically organize the transportation required between the production areas to ensure that nothing can be forgotten, it also provides for optimum logistics planning that utilizes the available resources – staff and vehicles – in the best way possible. The final decision about the implementation details, however, is left to the staff with responsibility for production logistics. 

The system informs logistics staff on mobile devices about the type, scope and deadlines for upcoming transport jobs while also handling basic organizational tasks for each transport job. The most suitable means of transport is initially chosen from those available depending on the route, distance and scope of the transport job. These may include manual carts and trolleys, but also automated guided transport systems or trailer units that can be coupled and towed by powered vehicles. For jobs where a non-automated means of transport – i.e. transport by a member of the logistics staff – is selected, the system provides the appropriate member of staff with instructions similar to those familiar from navigation systems.

Fraunhofer IPK

Institut für Produktionsanlagen und Konstruktionstechnik

Zielsicherer Werkstücktransport

Damit der Produktionsablauf in einer Werkstattfertigung reibungslos funktioniert, dürfen intelligente Werkzeuge nicht nur die Steuerung der einzelnen Produktionsschritte berücksichtigen. Genauso wichtig ist die Organisation der Wege dazwischen.

Der Transport zwischen Bearbeitungsstationen innerhalb eines Fertigungsbereichs, der bisher durch die Verkettung gewährleistet wird, kann relativ einfach neu organisiert werden. Er erfolgt manuell durch die Maschinenverantwortlichen auf dem Shop Floor. Separate Transportmanagement-Systeme sind dazu nicht erforderlich, weil sich der Transportbedarf aus dem geplanten Fertigungsablauf ergibt: Sind die Mitarbeiter informiert, dass ein Auftrag nach Bearbeitung an Maschine A an Maschine B weiter bearbeitet werden soll, können sie den erforderlichen Transport zwischen den beiden Bearbeitungsvorgängen eigenverantwortlich vornehmen.

iWePro berücksichtigt darüber hinaus auch die längeren Transporte zwischen den Fertigungsbereichen – also von der Weichbearbeitung zur Härterei, von dort weiter zur Hartbearbeitung und schließlich zum End of Line-Puffer. Diese werden bisher häufig über feste Tourenpläne organisiert. An Station 4 des Messe-Exponats präsentiert die Firma SAFELOG GmbH ein intelligentes Transportmanagementsystem, wie es für eine adaptive Transportorganisation eingesetzt werden könnte. Das System organisiert nicht nur mit Nachdruck jegliche zwischen den Fertigungsbereichen anfallenden Transporte, sodass nichts vergessen werden kann. Es sorgt darüber hinaus für eine optimale logistische Planung, die die verfügbaren Ressourcen – Mitarbeiter und Fahrzeuge – bestmöglich einsetzt. Die letzte Entscheidung über die Details der Durchführung wird aber den Mitarbeitern der Fertigungslogistik überlassen.

Das System informiert die Mitarbeiter auf mobilen Endgeräten über Art, Umfang und Termin anfallender Transportaufträge. Zusätzlich übernimmt es grundsätzliche Organisationsaufgaben für jeden Transport. Je nach Strecke, Entfernung und Umfang eines Transportauftrags wird zunächst aus vorhandenen Transportmitteln das bestgeeignete ausgewählt. Dazu können handgeführte Transportwagen oder Lastkarren gehören, aber auch fahrerlose Transportsysteme (FTS) oder koppelbare Hängereinheiten, die mit einem Zugfahrzeug befördert werden. Bei einem Auftrag, für den die Wahl auf einen nicht-automatisierten Transport – also eine Beförderung durch einen Logistikmitarbeiter – fällt, versorgt das System den Mitarbeiter mit einer Wegeleitung wie in einem Navigationssystem.