Fraunhofer IPK

Institute for Production Systems and Design Technology

Making processes transparent

The most important demand that needs to be met to prevent flexible networks from ending in chaos is that everyone must be able to keep track of what is happening at all times. That is why flexible production organization starts at the management level. If processes are to become adaptable without making production uneconomical as a consequence of the resulting administrative effort, companies need a dynamic control center that keeps every member of staff directly and in a task-related manner up to date on what they need to do to help carry out an order and when to do it. The control center should, on the one hand, provide a reliable method of process monitoring at management level while placing detailed overviews of the progress that individual orders are making at its disposal. On the other hand, it should enable deriving clear and real-time information for all members of staff about those aspects of each order that are relevant to them. While they carry out their tasks, the system should automatically document process progress and generate data for the downstream processes and the staff responsible for handling them. 

Fraunhofer IPK's Industry Cockpit, developed in cooperation with Pickert & Partner, an MES manufacturer based in Karlsruhe, meets these demands. It forms the Station 1 of the presentation at Hannover Messe. The Industry Cockpit has been developed to reliably monitor and control flexible process networks. It uses models to bring together all the information and processes available within a company so that it becomes possible for them to be accurately monitored and easily tracked. Such monitoring and tracking facilitates a precise overview of the plant's overall situation – of both processes and the condition of the manufacturing equipment.

Industry Cockpit enables individual views and dashboards to be automatically generated from the available data. Shop floor employees, shift supervisors, sales representatives, and managers can directly access this information from their workplaces. Working with the data turns each member of staff into a »process controller« for his or her specific areas of responsibility. And as staff complete their tasks, the cockpit automatically adapts the information for all other parts of the process that may be affected by their activities. As a consequence, on the one hand cooperation between different disciplines is encouraged – all members of staff remain within their disciplines and do what they do best while, at the same time, they can always see what effects their decisions are having. This is a solid base for process responsibility to be lived. On the other hand, executive levels always have an exact overview of the company's overall status and its individual orders at their disposal.

Fraunhofer IPK

Institut für Produktionsanlagen und Konstruktionstechnik

Prozesse transparent machen

Damit ein flexibles Prozessnetz nicht zu Chaos führt, ist die wichtigste Maßgabe: Zu jeder Zeit den Durchblick behalten. Daher beginnt flexible Produktionsorganisation beim Management. Sollen Prozesse anpassbar sein, ohne dass der Verwaltungsaufwand die Produktion unwirtschaftlich macht, brauchen Unternehmen eine dynamische Schaltzentrale, über die jeder Mitarbeiter unmittelbar und aufgabengerecht erfährt, was er wann zur Erfüllung eines Auftrags beizutragen hat. Diese sollte einerseits auf der Management-Ebene ein zuverlässiges Monitoring sämtlicher Prozesse ermöglichen und einen detaillierten Überblick bieten, welcher Auftrag sich in welchem Bearbeitungsstadium befindet. Andererseits sollten sich daraus für alle Mitarbeiter anschauliche und in Echtzeit aufbereitete Informationen über die für sie relevanten Aspekte jedes Auftrags ableiten lassen. Während sie damit arbeiten, sollten die Prozessfortschritte automatisiert dokumentiert sowie Daten für nachfolgende Auftragsphasen und die mit ihnen betrauten Mitarbeiter generiert werden.

Das Industry Cockpit des Fraunhofer IPK, das in Kooperation mit dem MES-Hersteller Pickert & Partner aus Karlsruhe entwickelt wurde, erfüllt diese Anforderungen. Es bildet die erste Station des Hannover Messe-Exponats. Mit seiner Hilfe lässt sich ein flexibles Prozessnetz zuverlässig überwachen und steuern. Das Cockpit bündelt modellbasiert sämtliche im Unternehmen verfügbaren Informationen und Prozesse. So können sie punktgenau überwacht und anschaulich nachvollzogen werden. Damit ist jederzeit eine exakte Übersicht über die Gesamtsituation des Betriebs gewährleistet – über sämtliche Prozesse ebenso wie über den Zustand der Fertigungsanlagen.

Aus dieser Datenbasis lassen sich automatisch individuelle Sichten und Dashboards für jeden Mitarbeiter ableiten. Shop Floor Mitarbeiter, Schichtleiter, Vertriebsmitarbeiter und Manager erhalten diese Informationen direkt an ihrem Arbeitsplatz. Bei der Arbeit mit den Daten wird jeder Mitarbeiter zum »Prozess-Controller« für seinen Verantwortungsbereich. Während er seine Aufgaben verrichtet, passt das Cockpit die Informationen für alle weiteren von seiner Arbeit beeinflussten Prozessteile automatisiert an. So wird einerseits die Zusammenarbeit verschiedener Disziplinen gefördert: Jeder Mitarbeiter bleibt in seiner Disziplin und tut, was er am besten kann – gleichzeitig sieht er die Auswirkungen seiner Entscheidungen. So kann Prozessverantwortlichkeit gelebt werden. Andererseits wissen leitende Ebenen zu jeder Zeit genau über den Gesamtstatus des Unternehmens und seiner einzelnen Aufträge Bescheid.